Norfolk Senior Cup

Play Norfolk Senior Cup 2015-16
Norfolk Senior Cup 2015-16
You will need Flash 8 or better to view this content.
Norfolk Senior Cup 2015-16
prev next
A brief history of the Norfolk Senior Cup...

The Norfolk Senior Cup is the oldest of the County’s cup competitions with a history that stretches all the way back to the 1881-82 season when Norfolk and Norwich became the inaugural winners as they beat Lynn Town 3-1.

Despite that initial defeat Lynn Town became regular winners of the trophy in the early years, picking up the cup on no fewer than five occasions; 1882-83, 1884-85, 1886-87, 1889-90, 1898-99. Another name to feature regularly on the cup in those initial seasons was CEYMS, especially around the turn of the century when they captured a hat-trick of titles. King’s Lynn went one better than that as they took the cup back to the west of the county an amazing four seasons on the trot between 1954-55 and 1957-58, beating Gorleston, Gothic, Great Yarmouth and most impressively Norwich City in that time.

Norwich City did bounce back from that defeat, and in some style too as they took part in one of the competitions highest scoring finals the following season, beating Gorleston 7-2. Nine goals were also scored in the 1972-73 final, but this was much closer as Fakenham Town edged past Hoveton by a score of 5-4.

In recent seasons the competition has been dominated by Clubs that compete in the Eastern Counties League. Wroxham were the team to beat in the late 1990’s and their name was engraved on the trophy in 1996-97, 1997-98 and 1999-00. Other recent winners include Diss Town, Gorleston, King’s Lynn Reserves and Dereham Town.

The 2009-10 final broke the trend of Eastern Counties winners though, as Mattishall of the Anglian Combination held Norwich United 1-1 at the end of extra time and then held their nerve on spot kicks to win 5-4, claiming a famous victory. 2010-11 saw two of the County’s biggest Clubs compete in the final for the historic trophy, and it was Dereham Town who held the upper hand on the night as they beat King’s Lynn Town by a comprehensive 4-1 score line. 

Gorleston won the 2011-12 final 2-0 against Thetford Town which saw them take the trophy back to Emerald Park for the first time since 2001, before Norwich City U21 lifted the trophy following a 2-0 victory against Wroxham at Carrow Road a year later. Gorleston made it two wins in three seasons to ensure the trophy returned to Emerald Park by winning the 2014 Final 1-0 against Wroxham. Wroxham returned to Carrow Road in 2015 to beat fellow Ryman League side Dereham Town 3-2 after extra time. 2016 saw Dereham Town reach the final again but this time lifted the trophy as they beat Norwich United 2-0. The current holders are King's Lynn Town as they won 2-0 against Fakenham Town.

Recent Finals

  • 2016-17 King's Lynn Town beat Fakenham Town 2-0
  • 2015-16 Dereham Town beat Norwich United 2-0
  • 2014-15 Wroxham beat Dereham Town (after 1-1 draw (aet)) 3-2
  • 2013-14 Gorleston beat Wroxham 1-0
  • 2012-13 Norwich City U21 beat Wroxham 2-0

To view the 2017-18 Norfolk Senior Cup fixtures and results, please click here.

Click here to visit the Sportsguard website

Until we have your approval, we must limit some functionality - More details