Norfolk Primary Cup

Play Norfolk Primary Cup 2015-16
Norfolk Primary Cup 2015-16
You will need Flash 8 or better to view this content.
Norfolk Primary Cup 2015-16
prev next
A brief history of the Norfolk Primary Cup...

The Norfolk Primary Cup has a long and distinguished history having first been competed for in 1925-26.

West Lynn was the very first name engraved on the trophy as they beat the wonderfully named Ber Street Adult School by three goals to two. Ber Street bounced back well from that defeat though as they reached the final again the following season, beating Holt United Reserves 2-0.

The first few finals were all close affairs, with nobody winning by more than two clear goals, but that all changed in 1937-38 when Norwich Lads Club Reserves defeated Massingham 6-1. The first final after the Second World War saw the biggest win in the history of the competition to date as Yarmouth Caledonians hammered Shouldham 10-0!

Several Clubs have managed to win the trophy in successive seasons. The first to achieve this honour were Terrington Wanderers who claimed the cup in 1929-30 by beating St Marys AS 3-2 before defending their crown in 1930-31 with a 3-2 win against Happisburgh. The most recent double winners are the now defunct Dereham Posties who beat Hereward Wiggenhall 2-1 in the 2005-06 final and then edged past UEA Reserves the following season on penalties after the two sides were locked at 1-1 after extra time. That was the second Primary Cup Final to be decided on spot kicks. The first had taken place five years earlier and ironically also involved UEA Reserves! It wasn’t a happy experience for them on that occasion either as they were on the losing side, with Methwold Hythe the team to break their hearts.

The Primary Cup final is typically a high scoring affair with the last six finals producing no fewer than 26 goals. Haven Bridge United sealed victory in 2011-12 with a 2-1 victory over West Winch Reserves ensuring the Cup returned to the east coast for the second year running, after Hopton won it in 2010-11 with a 3-2 victory against Great Massingham.

2012-13 saw Scarning United become the first Central & South Norfolk League team since 2006-07 to lift the trophy with a 3-1 victory against Riverside. In 2013-14 One Love United emerged victorious via a penalty shootout with Springwood following a 2-2 draw to become the first Norwich & District Saturday League side to lift the trophy since the early 90's. The following season Dereham Taverners beat The Woottons 2-1 to claim the cup and then successfully defended the trophy by beating Marham Wanderers 5-0 in 2015-16. Dereham Taverners made history in 2016-17 as they won the trophy for the third consecutive season as they beat Castle Acre Swifts 2-1.

Recent Finals

  • 2016-17 Dereham Taverners beat Castle Acre Swifts Res. 2-1
  • 2015-16 Dereham Taverners beat Marham Wanderers 5-0
  • 2014-15 Dereham Taverners beat The Woottons 2-1
  • 2013-14 One Love United beat Springwood (on pens (2-2 aet))
  • 2012-13 Scarning United beat Riverside 3-1

To view the 2017-18 Norfolk Primary Cup fixtures and results click here.

Click here to visit the Sportsguard website

Until we have your approval, we must limit some functionality - More details