Stuart Dracup Cup

Play Stuart Dracup Cup 2015-16
Stuart Dracup Cup 2015-16
You will need Flash 8 or better to view this content.
Stuart Dracup Cup 2015-16
prev next
A brief history of the Stuart Dracup Cup...

The Stuart Dracup Cup was first competed for in the 2014-15 season following the sad passing of Stuart Dracup who devoted many years to youth football. The competition, which was formerly known as the Norfolk Minor Cup, is steeped in history and was first competed for in the 1927-28 season when Norwich ILP defeated Rudham 5-0. At this time the Cup was actually run as an Under 18’s competition with matches taking place on a Saturday.

Bacton hold the record of the most goals scored in a Norfolk Minor Cup Final with their 10-3 victory over Wymondham III in the 1934-35 Final, this being the second of their three consecutive titles they won. The competition ran in the Under 18’s format until the end of the 1974-75 season, when after Lakeford Rangers won their third consecutive title with a 3-1 win over Norwich Lads Club it ceased to take place.

The Norfolk Minor Cup was then reformed in its current format, Under 14’s on a Sunday, in the 1986-87 season when it was won by Caister North End who defeated Hungate Rovers Youth 5-2. Old Catton Juniors had a streak of four Finals from the 1987-88 season to the 1990-91 season, however it took them until third time lucky to actually lift the trophy courtesy of a 3-2 victory against Magdalen Colts before defeating Gorleston Rangers the following season 4-0. Since then the only other Club to retain the trophy are Lakeford Rangers who earned their back to back victories in 2000-01 and 2001-02 over Firside Athletic and Sprowston Lads respectively.

Despite being a Sunday competition the decision to host the Finals on a Friday evening was taken in order to make the occasion even more special for those lucky enough to reach the Final, the first of which took place in 2009-10. On a night where the elements caused havoc, with strong winds and pouring rain the spectators were treated to an epic of a Cup Final. Thorpe Rovers raced into a 3-0 lead at half time, but were pegged back with just minutes to spare to 3-3 after a superb Clenchwarton fight back. Thorpe then thought they had won it when from kick off they scored almost immediately but again a valiant Clenchwarton replicated Thorpe’s desire and struck back with just seconds to go and forced extra time. It was in extra time that Clenchwarton took the lead for the first time but Thorpe Rovers Youth levelled before prevailing 5-4 in the penalty shootout to become the first team to ever win the trophy via this method.

The 2010-11 final was well attended when Shrublands Juniors ran out 4-0 winners over local rivals Gorleston Rangers at Trafford Park. Connor Deeks, Ben Mann and a brace from Mauro Cardoso secured the victory which was the Club’s first ever County Cup success. The following year it was Taverham's turn to enjoy success and they ran out 4-1 winners against Lakeford Rangers Juniors before Firside Athletic ran out 4-0 winners against Harling Colts in 2012-13.

Dereham Town Youth lifted the trophy in 2013-14 following a 2-0 win against Sprowston, whilst the first team to lift the trophy as the Stuart Dracup Cup was Reffley Youth who beat Firside Athletic 2-0 in 2014-15. Sprowston won the trophy for the sixth time as they beat Lakeford Rangers Juniors 5-0 in 2015-16. St Andrews won the trophy for the very first time as they beat Attleborough Town 1-0 thanks to a winner from Toby Duncan in the dying minutes.

Recent Finals

  • 2016-17 St Andrews beat Attleborough Town 1-0
  • 2015-16 Sprowston beat Lakeford Rangers Juniors 5-0
  • 2014-15 Reffley Youth beat Firside Athletic 2-0
  • 2013-14 Dereham Town Youth beat Sprowston 2-0
  • 2012-13 Firside Athletic beat Harling Colts 4-0

To view the 2017-18 Stuart Dracup Cup fixtures and results click here.

Click here to visit the Sportsguard website
Insurance & Financial Advice with Alan Boswell Group

Until we have your approval, we must limit some functionality - More details