John Savage Cup

history of the cup

A brief history of the John Savage Cup...

Who was John Savage?

John Savage was a stalwart of Norfolk football and, in recognition of his dedication to football in the County, the trophy was named after him. He is currently one of only two individuals to have this honour bestowed upon him, along with the Stuart Dracup Cup.

Who has won the John Savage Cup? 

The John Savage Cup was first competed for back in the 1978-79 season, when Gorleston United beat Attleborough Juniors 5-2.

More recently, here are some results from other John Savage Cup Finals:

  • 2017-18: Firside Athletic 1-0 Attleborough Town
  • 2016-17: Firside Athletic 5-0 Reffley Youth
  • 2015-16: Attleborough Town 3-2 Dereham Town Youth
  • 2014-15: Thetford Town 4-2 Lakeford Rangers Juniors
  • 2013-14: Reffley Youth 4-3 Dereham Town Youth
JS Banner
HIGHLIGHTS | John Savage Cup Final 2017-18
Firside Athletic FC vs Attleborough Town (23.03.18) - The FDC Field of Dreams

Round Dates

Round Date
1st Round 30/09/18 Results
2nd Round 04/11/18 Results
3rd Round 02/12/18 Results
Quarter-Final 20/01/19 to 03/03/19 Results
Semi-Final 03/03/19 to 10/03/19 Results
Final 05/04/19 Result