The John Savage Cup

The John Savage Cup

history of the cup

A brief history of the John Savage Cup...

Who was John Savage?

John Savage was a stalwart of Norfolk football and, in recognition of his dedication to football in the County, the trophy was named after him. He is currently one of only two individuals to have this honour bestowed upon him, along with the Stuart Dracup Cup.

Who has won the John Savage Cup? 

The John Savage Cup was first competed for back in the 1978-79 season, when Gorleston United beat Attleborough Juniors 5-2.

More recently, here are some results from other John Savage Cup Finals:

2021-22: North Walsham Town 0-2 Fakenham Town

2020-21: Sprowston 0-4 Wroxham

2018-19: Old Catton Juniors 1-0 Taverham

2017-18: Firside Athletic 1-0 Attleborough Town

2016-17: Firside Athletic 5-0 Reffley Youth

HIGHLIGHTS | John Savage Cup Final 2020-21
Sprowston vs Wroxham (09.06.21) - The FDC Field of Dreams

Round Dates

Round Date
1st Round 17/10/21 Results
2nd Round 05/12/21 to 15/12/21 Results
3rd Round 23/01/22 Results
Quarter-Final 06/03/22 to 27/03/22 Results
Semi-Final 03/04/22 Results
Final 15/05/22 Result