Groundsman OTY 2020

Peter Smith Norfolk Groundsman of the Year Award 2020

Football Development
The Peter Smith Norfolk Groundsman Of The Year returns for 2020.

Following the success of last season’s Groundsman of the Year Awards, please find below all the relevant information on how to nominate your Groundsman in the 2019-20 competition.

This applies to clubs at Step 7 and below only. Each County FA will be collating nominations over the next month and will then submit their top 3 applications to The FA, for independent judging as part of The FA National Awards.

The Groundsmen at this level of football are nearly all volunteers who give up hours of their time to provide the best pitches possible using limited resources. This competition is a great way for volunteer Groundsman to get recognition at a local and national level whilst also having the opportunity to engage with the professional Groundsmen who conduct the judging.

The winners of the 2019 Norfolk Groundsman of the Year Awards were:

  • 1st Place – Steve Finch; Wells Town FC
  • 2nd Place – Trevor Farrow; Heacham FC
  • 3rd Place – John Marston; Mundford FC

These awards provide a fantastic opportunity to recognise and reward Club Groundsmen at Step 7 and below in Norfolk.


If you would like to nominate your Groundsman, the closing date for applications is 5pm on Friday 7th February 2020. Norfolk FA, in collaboration with our independent judging panel, will select the top 3 applications to submit to The Football Association. The first-placed Groundsman will then undergo independent judging along with winners from other counties for consideration for the National Groundsman of the Year Award.

Please complete the attached nomination form and return to:

Norfolk County FA

FAO Ian Grange Facilities, Investment & Development Manager
11 Meridian Way
Thorpe St Andrew

Alternatively, please send your completed nomination form via email to

We look forward to receiving your nomination, and thank you for your continued support of the Awards.