Cowles Cup Winners 2019

Wymondham College Win the Cowles Cup by Scoring the Only Goal of the Game

Norfolk County FA
Wymondham College are this year's winners of the Cowles Cup after beating Thorpe St Andrew.

Wymondham College win the Cowles Cup by Scoring the Only Goal of the Game

Thorpe St Andrew vs Wymondham College – Cowles Cup Final                    
FDC Field of Dreams 14.03.19 KO 7pm
Final Score: Thorpe St Andrew 0 – 1 Wymondham College

Not many chances were created in the first half as both teams struggled to string many passes together. Towards the end of the half, Thorpe St Andrew began to play more direct and started to cause problems for the Wymondham defence. Wymondham were able to deal with the balls into the box and managed to go into the break with the score remaining goalless.

Half Time: Thorpe St Andrew 0 – 0 Wymondham College

The deadlock was broken after 60 minutes when Cameron Whiting headed home from short range after a good free kick from the right. The delivery was whipped in with pace which caught the Thorpe defenders out as they were unable to react in time.

In the second minute of added time Thorpe St Andrew were given a great opportunity to equalise when they were awarded a penalty by referee, Tom Rampling. The Thorpe striker ran past the Wymondham College defence and just as he was about to shoot his standing leg was taken out from beneath him.

The penalty was well struck and looked like it was heading into the back of the net, however a brilliant save from Patrick Dunne ensured that Wymondham didn’t concede. This was the final kick of the game meaning that Wymondham College are the winners of the Cowles Cup for 2019.

Final Score: Thorpe St Andrew 0 – 1 Wymondham College

Line ups:

Thorpe St Andrew: Oliver White, Marshall Daniels, Jack Day, James Fish, Harry Brookes, Finn Kelly, Thomas Steadman, Josh Mann, Callum Cox, Henry Earl, Joe Partridge.

Subs: Danny Loftus, Jason Moorse, Dominic Annis.

Wymondham College: Patrick Dunne, Joe Stance, Cameron Whiting, Kieron Taylor, Mussab Abu-Elmagd, Daniel Fowler-Shorten, Ed Saunders, Calum Gitiba, Fin Penrose, Ben Brow, Ola Folarunsho.

Subs: Andrew Hart, Matt Daly, Alex Onyenemau, Toby Balding, Chidi Oyoke.

Referee: Tom Rampling
Assistants: William Coglin-Hibbert and Alex Melton
Fourth Official: Sam Downing
Attendance: 58
Player of the Match: Josh Mann