Reepham Winners - Web Banner

Reepham and Sprowston win in Norfolk Schools FA Competitions

Cups & Competitions
Reepham High School won the U16 Mascot Cup while Sprowston High School won the U14 Millennium Shield Knockout Cup.

Reepham High School Win The U16 Mascot Cup By Scoring the Only Goal of the Game

Thorpe St Andrew High School vs Reepham High School

U16 Mascot Cup Final
FDC Field of Dreams 07.05.19
KO 7pm

The game started fairly slowly with both teams adapting to the occasion and trying to keep possession. Few chances were created early on and neither goalkeeper was tested. The deadlock was broken when a long free-kick into the box from the right found the head of Reepham captain, Lewis Bonner. His headed effort beat the diving Joe Jeffrey in the Thorpe goal despite him getting a hand to the effort.

This goal triggered a reaction from Thorpe and they began moving the ball a lot quicker. The ball was worked out to the right and a whipped delivery found the head of Sam Jackson who flicked the ball goal wards. Theo Simpkin in the Reepham goal dived to his left and somehow managed to palm the ball behind and keep his side’s clean sheet intact. This was the last real chance of the first half.

Both sides were very evenly matched throughout the second half and the best chance of the half fell to Thorpe in the dying seconds of added time. A looped ball into the box was headed towards goal and Simpkin could only stand still as he watched the ball cannon off his crossbar and away from the danger area. With this clearance William Coglin-Hibbert blew his whistle and brought the match to an end.

Final Score: Thorpe St Andrew 0-1 Reepham

Line ups:

Thorpe St Andrew: Joe Jeffrey, Angus Blazer, Ben Stewart-Miles, Dominic Snazell, Josh Church, Farys Raia, Kian McLean, Sam Jackson, Shay Kelly, Laurence Read, Toby Duncan ©.

Subs: Mathes Balasingham, Olly Oppiah, Theo Gidney.

Reepham: Theo Simpkin, Toby Jacobs, William Rowley, Lewis Bonner ©, Logan Santi, Matthew Waller, Arly Bassham, James Wagner, Jason Daniels, Rio Fox, Patrick Parle.

Subs: Shea Fletcher, Fletcher Pemberton, Jack Barnett, Ajay Foreman.

Referee: William Coglin-Hibbert

 Dom Frary & Sam Downing
Fourth Official: Eleni Christofi
Player of the Match: Lewis Bonner

Sprowston High School Win The Millennium Shield Knockout Cup After Scoring Eight

Notre Dame High School vs Sprowston High School 

U14’s Millennium Shield Knockout Cup Final
FDC Field of Dreams 07.05.19
KO 4pm

Sprowston showed their attacking intent early on when Evie Dickerson hit the post after latching onto a long diagonal through ball. They scored their first when Sarah Brasero-Carreira ran past three Notre Dame defenders and hit the ball into the top left corner after 12 minutes.

By half-time Sprowston had scored 3 thanks to the early strike of Brasero-Carreira and good finishes from Lauren Hailes and Evie Dickerson. Notre Dame really struggled to keep possession of the ball but their captain, Lizzie Way was causing problems to the Sprowston defense when she got on the ball.

The second half started evenly with neither side managing to create really good chances in front of goal. Sprowston fourth came via their captain, Brasero-Carreira, who scored a very similar goal to her first this time firing the ball into the bottom right of the goal. Another two quick goals from Dezzy Campbell and Brasero-Carreira meant that Sprowston lead by six going into the last 10 minutes.

Notre Dame got the goal they deserved after Way was brought down in the box and converted from the resulting penalty kick. The Notre Dame defense had little left to give in the dying minutes, this meant Sprowston were able to take their tally up to 8 goals in total.

Final Score: Notre Dame High School 1-8 Sprowston High School

Line ups:

Notre Dame: Amy Carroll, Ellie Hood, Megan O’Connor, Cyrene Bongcayao, Kacey Omara, Chloe Turley, Mimi Wescott, Millie Delaney, Lizzie Way ©, Jen Martins, Joss Silva-Peralta.

Subs: Hattie Pike, Olivia Dawson-Snow, Ellie De Souza.

Sprowston High School: Macy Smith, Lauren Hailes, Breanna Rudd, Libby Marney, Evie Dickerson, Dezzy Campbell, Sarah Brasero-Carreira ©, Faye Albarn, Sophie Overton, Mel barley, Lucy Mayes.

Subs: Harriet Knights.

Referee: Eleni Christofi
Assistants: Dom Frary & Sam Downing
Fourth Official: William Coglin-Hibbert
Player of the Match: Sarah Brasero-Carreira